The Only Specialized Global Intellectual Property News Agency
A Member of Talal Abu-Ghazaleh Global

INTA Elects Toe Su Aung of Batmark Limited as its 2013 President

31-Jan-2013 | Source : | Visits : 8256
NEW YORK, NY - The International Trademark Association (INTA) announced in a press release that it has elected Toe Su Aung as the 2013 President of the Association and Chair of its Board of Directors. Based in London and qualified as a Solicitor in the UK and Singapore, Ms. Aung is the General Counsel, Anti-Illicit Trade, for BATMark, a subsidiary of British American Tobacco, where she oversees governance and advocacy, and counsels on regulatory and commercial issues in fighting illicit trade. As President of INTA, Aung will support the Association in its global advocacy work with a focus on initiatives in Asia, Latin America and Europe. She is the first Asian President of the Association.

Aung began her career in Intellectual Property law at Drew and Napier, a Singapore-based law firm, before joining Rothmans International in 1992, which later merged with British American Tobacco. Active in the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) Business Action to Stop Counterfeiting and Piracy (BASCAP), Ms. Aung frequently speaks on the topic of anti-counterfeiting and has addressed the Global Congress on Combating Counterfeiting and Piracy.

Aung has been active in INTA since 1996. Prior to becoming an Officer of INTA, Aung held several important committee assignments, including Chair of the Anti-Counterfeiting and Enforcement Committees. She has served as Treasurer of INTA, Chair of the Board Finance Committee, and was the President Elect in 2012.

“It’s an absolute honor to lead INTA in 2013,” said Aung. “Companies which rely on intellectual property, particularly trademarks, are the powerhouse of economies globally and we need to make sure that we represent the interests of these companies around the world.  We also have several opportunities to foster productive relationships with national governments and trademark offices throughout the world.  I look forward to serving the Association and its members by helping to advance trademark-related policy in my home base of Europe and also in the fast growing markets of Asia, Latin America and beyond.”

Also taking office as of January 1, 2013: Bret Parker, Elizabeth Arden Inc. (President Elect); Mei-lan Stark, Fox Entertainment Group (Vice President); Gabrielle Olsson Skalin, Inter IKEA Holding Services S.A. (Vice President); J. Scott Evans, Yahoo! Inc. (Treasurer); Russell Pangborn, Microsoft Corp. (Secretary); and Michael Metteauer, Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. (Counsel).

Founded in 1878, the International Trademark Association (INTA) is a worldwide association of member companies and firms that support the advancement of trademarks and intellectual property as elements of fair and effective global commerce. Members include more than 6,000 trademark owners, legal professionals and academics from more than 190 countries, who benefit from the Association’s global trademark research, policy development, education and training, and international network.  Headquartered in New York City, INTA also has offices in Shanghai, Brussels and Washington DC, and representatives in Geneva and Mumbai.

Related Articles