The Only Specialized Global Intellectual Property News Agency
A Member of Talal Abu-Ghazaleh Global

40 Young Scientists to Be Honored at World Economic Forum’s Summer Davos

09-Sep-2013 | Source : | Visits : 10208
Special to ag-IP-news Agency

DALIAN, China - As part of the World Economic Forum’s New Champions community, 40 Young Scientists from 19 countries will participate in the Annual Meeting of the New Champions 2013, which will take place in Dalian from 11 to 13 September. The Meeting, held under the theme “Meeting the Innovation Imperative”, will welcome over 1,600 participants from around the world.

In addition to the Young Scientists, participants will include Members of the Global Growth Companies community, Technology Pioneers, Social Entrepreneurs, Young Global Leaders and Global Shapers. In its seventh year, the Meeting is widely known as the “Summer Davos” and is the foremost global business gathering in Asia. The Meeting will be held in close collaboration with the Government of the People’s Republic of China and benefit from the support of the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC).

The World Economic Forum identifies the best scientific minds who play a transformational role in integrating scientific knowledge and technological innovation to improve the state of the world. Each year, the Forum selects up to 40 extraordinary researchers under the age of 40 to join its Young Scientists community and invites them to participate in the Annual Meeting of the New Champions. These Young Scientists engage with business and political leaders at the Meeting to spur innovation and identify groundbreaking scientific solutions to current global challenges. They bring value to the Meeting by contributing their scientific perspective and highlighting the latest trends in the fields of science and technology.

This year’s selected group of Young Scientists are:

Eva Alisic, June Andronick, Fuat Balci, Yusuf Baran, Ghada Bassioni, Bhart-Anjan Bhullar, Kelly Benoit-Bird, Luke Bisby, Edward Boyden, Duncan Cameron, Chen Qixin, Jorgen D’Hondt, Per Eklund, Kevin Fu, Erica Fuchs, Viviana Gradinaru, Nicole Grobert, Maarten Herpen, Victor Tong Joo Chuan, Vyacheslavs Kashcheyevs, Kim Bumjoon, Heather A. Knutson, Patrick Kobina Arthur, Tonni Agustiono Kurniawan, David Lentink, Verena Lepper, Guruprasad Madhavan, Sarkis K. Mazmanian, Subhasish Mitra, Valeria Nicolosi; Konstantin Novoselov, Jeremy O’Brien, Shwetak Patel, Laura Petes, Wibool Piyawattanametha, Helen Savin, Beth Shapiro, Shy Shoham, Lucianne Walkowicz, Jun Wang, Wilfried Weber, Wilfred G. Wiel and Gijs Wuite,

Established in 2008, the Young Scientist community represents the future of science leadership, bringing together the most forward-thinking and advanced scientific minds in the world. The scientists are selected from all regions and a wide range of disciplines. Nominees are pioneers with a proven track record of advancing the frontiers of science, engineering or technology in areas of high societal impact, and are under the age of 40. During their careers, they have exhibited exceptional creativity, thought leadership and high growth potential. Emphasis is placed on individuals with a demonstrated commitment to public service, a deep interest in the global perspective and a strong alignment with the Forum’s mission of improving the state of the world. The individuals have actively engaged in playing a transformational role in integrating scientific knowledge into society for the public good. Nominees possess excellent communication skills, a collaborative attitude and an ability to translate their research for a multistakeholder audience of business, political and civil society leaders. They also demonstrate high personal standards and exceptional research ethics.


Related Articles