The Only Specialized Global Intellectual Property News Agency
A Member of Talal Abu-Ghazaleh Global

Trademark Scholars from Drake University School of Law and The John Marshall Law

22-Apr-2014 | Source : | Visits : 6173

NEW YORK, NY - The International Trademark Association (INTA) announced the winners of the 2014 Ladas Memorial Award, a yearly competition that awards the best original papers on the subject of trademark law.

According to the Association, awards are presented in both professional and student categories:

• Shontavia Johnson, Assistant Professor at Drake University School of Law, won in the professional category for her paper entitled Trademark Territoriality in Cyberspace: An Internet Framework.
• Paul Kossof, a JD and LLM Candidate from The John Marshall Law School, won in the student category for his paper entitled The New Chinese Trademark Law.

Both winners received a cash prize of $2,000, complimentary registration to INTA's upcoming Annual Meeting in Hong Kong SAR, China, and a set of Stephen P. Ladas’s three-volume treatise, Patents, Trademarks and Related Rights. The winning papers will also be published in The Trademark Reporter, INTA’s legal journal.

The Ladas Memorial Award, supported by Ladas & Parry LLP and the INTA Foundation, was established in memory of the outstanding contributions to international intellectual property law made by the distinguished practitioner and author Stephen P. Ladas, who was elected posthumously to the Intellectual Property Hall of Fame in 2013.

The International Trademark Association (INTA) is a global association of trademark owners and professionals dedicated to supporting trademarks and related intellectual property in order to protect consumers and to promote fair and effective commerce. Members include more than 6,400 trademark owners, professionals and academics from more than 190 countries, who benefit from the Association’s global trademark resources, policy development, education and training, and international network. Founded in 1878, INTA is headquartered in New York City, with offices in Brussels and Washington, D.C., and representatives in Geneva and Mumbai.


Related Articles