The Only Specialized Global Intellectual Property News Agency
A Member of Talal Abu-Ghazaleh Global

Accountability & Governance Public Experts Group Members Announced

20-Aug-2014 | Source : | Visits : 6269
LOS ANGELES - As described in the 14 August 2014 posting of the Enhancing ICANN Accountability: Process and Next Steps, four respected individuals with backgrounds in academia, governmental relations, global insight, and the Affirmation of Commitments (AoC), will form the Accountability & Governance Public Experts Group, according to ICANN.

Selected by ICANN's President and CEO, Fadi Chehadé, members of the Public Experts Group will be responsible for the selection of up to seven Advisers to sit on the Coordination Group to assure that best practices are brought from the larger global community. Once selected by the Public Experts Group, these Advisers will contribute research and advice, as well as bring perspectives on global best practices to enrich the discussion, all while engaging with a broader network of accountability experts from around the world.

The members of the Public Experts Group are:

Brian Cute 
CEO of The Public Interest Registry and Chair of ICANN's first and second Accountability and Transparency Review Teams (ATRT). 

Jeanette Hofmann 
Director, Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, in Berlin, Germany. She also conducts research at the Social Science Research Center Berlin. She represented the academic community as one of four co-chairs of the NETmundial Global Multistakeholder Meeting on the Future of Internet Governance in São Paulo, Brazil, in April 2014.

Ambassador Janis Karklins 
Latvian Ambassador. Chair of the Multistakeholder Advisory Group (MAG); former Chairman of the Governmental Advisory Committee, GAC Liaison to the ICANN Board and co-selector of the ATRT1.

Lawrence E. Strickling 
NTIA Administrator and Assistant Secretary for Communication and Information of the US Department of Commerce; and member of both ATRT1 and ATRT2.

Related Articles